Open Access at Peer Institutions

Faculties at Columbia’s peer institutions are implementing open access policies while academic libraries have established open access author funds.

Open Access Policies

In February 2008, Harvard University’s Faculty of Arts and Sciences approved an open access policy that was the first of its kind in the U.S. Since then, faculty at five additional Harvard schools have approved similar policies.

Open access policies have also been approved at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Duke University, University of Kansas, Princeton University, and the Stanford School of Education

Key features of open access policies at universities, schools, and departments:

  • All faculty members agree to grant the university a nonexclusive license to their scholarly articles and to provide an electronic copy of the articles to the university.
  • The university may make faculty articles freely available via its online repository and to disseminate the articles as it sees fit as long as the articles are not sold for profit.
  • Faculty can opt out of this requirement, but they must request a waiver for each article they want exempted from the policy.

Open Access Author Funds

The Columbia Open Access Publication (COAP) Fund is one of a growing number of funds established to help authors cover article-processing fees for open access publications.

Key features of open access funds:

  • Funding usually comes from the libraries, sometimes with help from the provost’s office or the office of research.
  • All the funds help cover article-processing fees for papers published by faculty authors in open-access journals. Some funds cover student and staff papers as well.
  • Some funds will help cover fees paid by authors to publish in a hybrid open access journal. The University of Oregon fund will cover peer-reviewed open access monographs.
  • Eight of these funds, including Columbia’s fund, are part of the Compact for Open-Access Publishing Equity, with the goal of providing “a suf´Čücient and sustainable funding basis for open-access publication of the scholarly literature.”
  • Other open access funds include those at the University of Calgary, the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, the University of Wisconsin, and the University of Florida.